Tsutsujigasaki House

Get the Flash Player to see this video.


Tsutsujigasaki House (躑躅ヶ崎館, tsutsujigasakiyakata) is the ruins of Takeda Shingen's house, currently it is Takeda Shrine. It is one of the 100 best castles of Japan. It was built in 1519 by Takeda Nobutora, the father of Shingen, and was the government office until Takeda Katsuyori, the son of Shingen.

Tourist Info.
There is parking and restroom.

0. at Kofu Station
1. use local bus to Takedajinja


周围的地图 Tsutsujigasaki House


Type: Flatland
Build: 1519
Class: Ruins
After the end of taking over Kai, Takeda Nobutora built a new city in the center of Kai. He built this house, and brought all of his samurai around the house. All of the town, samurai houses, and government office was placed in the one spots around this house, and this style was very unique at this time.

During the period of Takeda Shingen, this house and the town highly developed. Shingen took over, Shinano, Suruga, Kozuke, Totoumi, and Mikawa, but he still put his government office in this house.

In 1575, Takeda Katsuyori lost the battle of Nagashino, and because this house is not well constructed as the castle, he moved his castle to Shinpu.

After the fall of Takeda Family, Ieyasu built new castle, Kofu Castle around the town. Because Kofu is located in between Edo and Kyoto, it was very important city and well developed during the Edo period.